The Idea

The “Mignon Game” reduces mobile game consoles such as the Game Boy or the “Play Station Portable” -and along with those interactive digital media per se – to their minimal level on which they function symbolically.

The concept of the construction associates the introduction of electronics and information technology with computer games. This connection is advantageous for both sides; the consumers of video games become interested in the structures behind the user interface, engineers and programmers in the making are challenged and motivated by the playful element.

[The picture shows the Brainiac K-30, a succeeding product model of the Geniac (Genius Almost-Automatic Computer). This was the first “computer”-kit, which was sold as a toy and for education purpose in 1955 in the USA.]

© olaf val, 2019

Die Idee

Mobile Spielkonsolen wie der “Game Boy” oder die „Play Station Portable“ und mit ihnen die interaktiven digitalen Medien per se werden in dem „Mignon Game Kit“ auf eine minimale Form reduziert, auf der sie symbolisch funktionieren.

Das Konzept des Bausatzes beruht darauf, den Einstig in Elektronik und Informatik mit einer assoziativen, zeichenhaften Ebene an das Thema Computerspiele zu koppeln. Diese Verbindung ist in beide Richtungen sehr gewinnbringend. Bei Video-Game-Konsumenten wird das Interesse für die Strukturen hinter der Benutzeroberfläche geweckt. Angehende Ingenieure oder Programmierer werden durch das spielerische Element besonders gefordert und motiviert.

[Die Abbildung zeigt den Brainiac K-30 eine Nachfolgemodell des Geniac (Genius Almost-Automatic Computer) Es handelt sich dabei um den ersten “Computer”-Bausatz der 1955 als Spielzeug und zu Ausbildungszwecken in den USA auf den Markt kam.]

© olaf val, 2018